April 2005

 

Upgrading NYC With A Moved User Folder

 

Some users like to keep all their data under My Documents so they can easily select this folder when backing up their computer.   So at some time after installation of NYC they use NYC’s Tools… Options… User Folder… feature to move the contents of their NYC user folder to a folder under My Documents (or wherever).

 

Later, you install a new version and wish to upgrade your user files using File… Upgrade… from the new version, only to find that you now have them in the \user folder under the new NYC folder.

 

We suggest these steps:

 

  1. Run the new version and use File… Upgrade… to bring over/upgrade user files (including cookbooks and reg info) from your previous version.
  2. Rename the user folder you had under My Documents so it does not get overwritten (this will provide an extra backup copy of your user files, which you can delete if you desire).
  3. Use NYC’s Tools… Options… User Folder… feature to move the user folder to a folder under My Documents named liked you had it before.

 

Use a short user folder name under My Documents because menus only work if your path+cookbookname+recipename is less than 100 characters. 

See previous NYC Tips


home | overview | download | features | screenshots | purchase | support
tips | FAQ | recipes | more links | email us

Back to Now You're Cooking! Recipe Software